Greetings!
This issue of the Buzz from the Hub connects you with new resources on significant disproportionality, an ongoing concern in schools districts, especially in special education classification.. Your state is now making important decisions about how it will identify and reduce significant disproportionality under IDEA.
We hope that the resources spotlighted in this issue of the Buzz will support the participation of Parent Centers and families in meetings and decision making about how significant disproportionality will be addressed in your state.
Best to you,
Debra A. Jennings, Director

5 Things to Know About Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Special Education

Here’s a crash-course intro to disproportionality in special education and why it is so concerning.
What are Success Gaps?

This short video (2-1/2 minutes) defines and gives examples of success gaps in education. Great for sharing with parents participating in your Center’s advocacy to reduce significant disproportionality.
Success Gaps Toolkit

The Success Gaps Toolkit is part of a package of resources that includes materials that a school or district can use to (1) conduct a root cause analysis of why there are gaps in achievement between groups of students, and (2) make a plan for reducing success gaps. Share it with your LEA, SEA, and individual schools.
Parent Engagement Toolkit

This toolkit is a resource for all organizations and community leaders interested in bringing the parent voice into the planning process and the development of local and state action plans addressing the dropout crisis.

New from CPIR

Looking for a one-stop list to the guidance and resource packages that have come out of the U.S. Department of Education in 2016 and 2017? (It’s been amazing, hasn’t it?) Here you go! CPIR is pleased to offer this list by topic. Disproportionality is definitely on the list!

 


UPCOMING EVENTS

Tuesday, February 21
Webinar on Resiliency: 
Find Your Inner Strength
Time: 11:30 am (PST), 12:30 pm (MST), 1:30 pm (CST), 2:30 pm (EST)
Register to attend at: 
Hosted by: The RAISE Center and the Native American Parent Technical Assistance Center